Firefly Aerospace Inc. (“Firefly”), headquartered in Austin, TX, is committed to providing economical and convenient access to space for small payloads through the design, manufacture and operation of reliable launch vehicles. The Firefly team addresses the market's need for flexible access to space with a “simplest/soonest” approach to technology selection. Firefly launch vehicles embody the insights of a diverse design team and leverage commercial off–the–shelf (COTS) components, manufactured by suppliers across the United States, to reduce risk, maximize reliability and minimize development time.

Led by CEO Tom Markusic and a team of space industry veterans, Firefly is on track to deliver a US solution for the 1,000 to 4,000 kg payload class to LEO by early 2021 for a starting price of $15M. Firefly is committed to doing its part to restore U.S. leadership in the small to medium launch market, and is establishing international offices and strategic partnerships to effectively serve the global market.

Austin, TX, USA

The Team

Advisory Board

  • Jeff Bingham

    Jeff Bingham

    Brings nearly 40 years of governmental experience to Firefly. Instrumental in shaping space station policy, he served most recently as the senior advisor on space for the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. He was previously the associate administrator for NASA’s Office of Legislative Affairs. Jeff played a key role in ensuring continued congressional support for the ISS as the legislative coordinator for the International Space Station program.

  • Terry Boardman

    Terry Boardman

    Brings 35 years of expertise from Alliant Techsystems where he served as Chief Engineer for the Space Shuttle solid rocket motor program and later as Director of Space Launch Propulsion. In this capacity he was responsible for engineering effort on all NASA space launch propulsion programs at ATK, including the Shuttle flight program. Terry holds BS and MS degrees from Caltech and is a recipient of the Rotary National Stellar Award for Space Achievement.

  • James Cartwright

    James Cartwright

    General James Cartwright retired from active duty on September 1, 2011, after 40 years of service in the United States Marine Corps. General Cartwright served as Commander, U.S. Strategic Command, before being nominated and appointed as the 8th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the nation's second highest military officer. He is widely recognized for his technical acumen, vision of future national security concepts, and keen ability to integrate systems, organizations and people.

  • Jim Mase

    Jim Maser

    Senior Vice President of Aerojet Rocketdyne’s Space Business Unit since August 2018. Mr. Maser has more than 32 years of global aerospace experience and leadership, spanning entrepreneurial space launch, human spaceflight as well as commercial and military jet engines. Prior to Aerojet Rocketdyne, he served as president of James G. Advisors, LLC, a strategy, leadership and technical execution consulting firm. He also held a number of roles within Pratt & Whitney between 2006 and 2017, including vice president of the F135 engine program and president of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne, where he was responsible for the design, manufacture and performance of power and propulsion systems across numerous platforms. Mr. Maser graduated magna cum laude from the University of Akron with a Bachelor of Science in Engineering and a Master of Science in Engineering. He later received a Master of Business Administration from the University of California, Los Angeles.

  • George Nield

    George Nield

    Has played a critical role in opening space to private industry. As head of the Federal Aviation Administration’s Office of Commercial Space Transportation, he was responsible for ensuring public safety during all commercial launches and reentries. Previously, George served as manager of the Space Shuttle program flight integration office at NASA Johnson Space Center and as Senior Scientist at the Orbital Sciences Corporation. He holds a Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics and is a Flight Test Engineering graduate of the United States Air Force Test Pilot School.

  • William F. Readdy

    William F. Readdy

    Is a veteran astronaut who flew on Space Shuttle missions STS-42, STS-51 and STS-79. He served as NASA Associate Administrator for Space Flight Operations, which had oversight for the Johnson, Kennedy, Marshall and Stennis Space Centers as well as program oversight for International Space Station, Space Shuttle, Space Communications and Space Launch Vehicles. Following retirement from NASA in 2005, Readdy has served on the boards of several publicly traded, non-profits and aerospace and technology startups, and served as a chairman of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia until 2016.

Senior Management

  • Tom Markusic

    Tom Markusic

    Founder, CEO
  • Robb Kulin

    Robb Kulin

    Chief Operating Officer
  • Darren Ma

    Darren Ma

    Chief Financial Officer
  • Brad Schneider

    Brad Schneider

    Chief Revenue Officer
  • Shea Ferring

    Shea Ferring

    Vice President of Mission Assurance
  • Keith Becker

    Keith Becker

    Director of Avionics
  • John Courter

    John Courter

    Director of Structures
  • John Cramer

    John Cramer

    Director of Propulsion
  • Paul Garland

    Paul Garland

    Director of Quality Assurance
  • Sarah Hinze

    Sarah Hinze

    Alpha Program Manager
  • Alona Kolisnyk

    Alona Kolisnyk

    Director of international business development
  • Gary Lantz

    Gary Lantz

    Director of Information Systems
  • Adam Oakes

    Adam Oakes

    Director of Production
  • Brigette Oakes

    Brigette Oakes

    Director of Design & Analysis
  • Brad Obrocto

    Brad Obrocto

    Director of launch operations
  • Jacob Rendon

    Jacob Rendon

    Director of Fluid Systems
  • Eric Salwan

    Eric Salwan

    Director of commercial business development
  • Pete Starnes

    Pete Starnes

    It director